Thirst

3 Feb

I have struggled with this particular thought for months now, perhaps my refusal to write on it has to do with the fact that I wanted to feel less guilt. However I thought about it yet again tonight and it hit me, I have nothing to feel guilty or ashamed of.

Having gotten round various characters in the last few months via all sorts of social sites/media I have come to learn a lot about wanting/craving acceptance or thirst like some people call it.
It would seem to many that this is a loser’s path ; pursuing validation from others,wanting to be heard,seeking approval, but is it? Really?

In the 1993 Best seller Movie “Indecent Proposal” there is a scene with a quote; “…even a brick wants to be more” . Tell me,how much more humans? Everyone of us wants acceptance ( not necessarily in a conforming sense)but we all like to be thought of as right (of course in our own way). We want people to marvel at the things we do or say. Hang on to our words and look to us for some sort of guidance. How then have we come to label a certain group thirsty?

First time I came across the word,I could have sworn the lady in question was said to be in need of water/a drink. I have since over come my last carrying ,did learn about this disease and even know the patterns. It starts by seeking cool people or whoever you perceive so out, hounding n frustrating them with your below par wit. Following up on everything they do, taking hits for them or in some extreme cases,doing a one-man army using the help of your assets. *insert nude picture here*.

So it seems if you aren’t part of the in-crowd, any overly conscious effort to get yourself out there is perceived with suspicion and scorn. You’d be minding your business(which is tied to other people’s business) trying to know wazzup and one yeye person would call you thirsty

Well, in my opinion everyone of us enjoy and require a certain measure of validation, whether from people we know or total strangers. The difference however lies in our varying sense of self worth and the lengths we are willing to go for acknowledgment.
To be honest, its never a bad feeling when people say to me “tolu I would give my arm to…..” Ok ok, I like being rated and this is in fact a thirsty note to get me out there. Please ask your cool friends to read it and talk about me. 😀

8 Responses to “Thirst”

  1. Frank February 3, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    First…for thirst

    • tolzzzz February 3, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Obey ur thirst ; Even sprite endorses. Na sprite abi 7up?

  2. K February 3, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Haha! This is as deep as they come

  3. Athena February 3, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Lol, this is hilarious —– ‘hounding n frustrating them with your below par wit’. Nice post though. A perfect description of ‘Thirst’.

  4. Ebuoe February 3, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    “hounding n frustrating them with your below par wit” … lmao .. tolu u r jst mean subbin ur “cool” frnds on twitter on ur blog … dis is jst hilarious

  5. kunta kinte March 5, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    *clears throat* I think the quote from the movie was “even a brick wants to be something”

Leave a Reply

