STATIC

14 Feb

This Post is dedicated to Bisi,a dear friend who died years back. Lovely, vivacious, wanted so much out of life,I thought she would never die, how naive of me…….

I now make jokes about dying,this has nothing to do with my fear of death or even taking it lightly. It stems more from my Awe of it. Yes, I am a tad intrigued by the art of dying, did I just refer to it as art?

Well, I hear about how amazing new life is (I have no kids) yet I have no doubt, but its another life. That’s the thing; I don’t know what its like to be conceived,to be born,to be a miniature being, but when I die…..

Yes,”when I die…when we die” Death is a reality we all close our eyes to even though we know it will come today,tomorrow,any day. Of course its never a welcome development, except if you are a Methuselah or one of them original Vampires bored out of their minds (if myths are anything to go by). However it is one of life’s realest realities, I mean the odds that you would die is what? 1,000,000 out of 1,000,000???

Sometimes I wonder about it,I however try not to bother with theories of the After-Life as that is just too much worries for one person. But I ask myself,”would I be ready at my time”? The natural answer to that would be No, but maybe just maybe in those last moments when my life flashes before my eyes and promises of something better shows,I would want to die…

Perhaps the hardest part is the unfulfilled dreams,maybe not leaving the right legacy, of course there is also the many broken hearts I would leave behind. Yes dying is very hard but in my mind’s eyes it doesn’t seem like the worst feat known to mankind.

Then again it is pertinent to consider how one dies; I’d hate to be brutally murdered,my body desecrated, even worse would be me begging for my life before its taken by a mere mortal like myself that has chance and arms to his/her advantage.

I can’t say what would be the best way to die,or what timing would be immaculate. Hell I don’t want to die,yet I don’t want to live forever (the issue of immortality is story for another time). I just know I’d like to know; to feel it,to know soon I would stop playing this role, the music would stop, and all that would be left is Static……

NB: I hope for the life of me,I won’t cough like they do in Nollywood movies while dying, and God please the life flashing before one’s eyes in slow motion better be true, I ve picked a song for my moment 🙂

8 Responses to “STATIC”

  1. ebuoe February 14, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Me I dnt wnt 2 die … When my time is up I jst wnt 2 teleport my sef 2 “dt beta place” ..painless , fly n cool .. -__- sorry abt ur frnd … Nyc vals day post by d way☺ muaahhh …

    • tolzzzz February 14, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      In ur accent “Fly n kweel” Igbo boy. Yes dis is d perfect vals post. -_- Nsugbu Adiro

  2. dhamyhan February 14, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    LOOOL I never thought about picking a song for my moment 😦

    What I’m scared of the most is dying and finding out there’s actually nothing after all these, what if I find out all this forced morality was all a waste,it’s safe to say that what I fear the most in death is regret at lost opportunity.

    Sorry about your friend.

    • tolzzzz February 14, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      Forced morality? Sinful beech. Don’t worry,u re most likely not going to heaven anyways. Thanks.

  3. ekwe February 14, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    lol. nice.
    ” … and all that would be left is Static……” that line is so nice.

  4. akintola February 18, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    U r quite imaginative being reading ur blogs

Leave a Reply

